This year's 6th annual British Urban Film Festival awards, the climax to BUFF 2020 streamed online via the festival website. Actor, writer and director Femi Oyeniran hosted proceedings, he previously co-hosted the ceremony in 2016 and 2019.

This year’s film awards jurors included filmmaker and programmer Rashid Bailey; writer, director and producer Jesse Quinones (Cage Fighter); writer and actor Isis Davis (The Secret Garden) and film financier Peter Storey. Further details on the jurors can be found in the appendix below.

The event was staged at the Met Film School on the set of Ealing Studios in West London with nominees and winners participating virtually.

70 titles of years selections are being distributed through Apple TV App and another 16 titles are available for a limited time via the festivals on demand page, BUFFoD.

The winners are...

Best Short Film Nominees sponsored by Goldfinch
Presented by Sarah Poole, Investment Manager at Goldfinch
1: Transference (directed by Aletha Shepherd)
2: Hungry Joe (directed by Paul Holbrook and Sam Dawe) - WINNER
3: Stop and Search (directed by Harry Jackson)
4: The Chippie (directed by Louis Norton Selzer)

The Blessing Anyiam-Osigwe Award: Best Actress Nominees
1: Ruby Barker (How to Stop a Recurring Dream) - WINNER
2: Joselyn Dumas (Cold Feet)
3: Antonia Thomas (All on a Summer's Day)
4: Laura Autumn Rai (The Tale of The Fatherless)

Best Actor Nominees
1: Jamie Michie (How to Stop a Recurring Dream)
2: Stefan Davis (Tales of the Fatherless) - WINNER
3: Sam Gittins (Sorority)
4: Johnny Sachon (Solitary)

The Victor Adebodun Award: Best Feature Nominees sponsored by Woolfcub Productions
Presented by Jesse Quinones, Producer at Woolfcub Productions

1: How to Stop a Recurring Dream (directed by Ed Morris) - WINNER
2: Sorority (directed by James Webber)
3: Cold Feet (directed by Moses Inwang)
4: The Tale of the Fatherless (co-directed by Stefan Davis & Misha Nadine)

Best Documentary Nominees sponsored by Greenlit Fund
Presented by Peter Storey, Film Financier and Founder of Greenlit Fund
1: Deleted (directed by Stephan Pierre Mitchell) - WINNER
2: In The Red (directed by Patrick Rooney)
3: Ayiti - The Awakening (directed by Sage Love)
4: Mini DV (directed by Shauly Melamed)

Best Comedy Nominees
1: Steve (directed by Jason Hightower)
2: Hungry Joe (directed by Paul Holbrook)
3: Loyalty or Lies (directed by Comfort Emmanuel)
4: Cleaning House (directed by Shahaub Roudbari) - WINNER

Best Script Award recipients: sponsored by First Flights
1: Chalice and Blade written by Charlie Taylor
2: Hell Water written by Tim Mallon
3: Made In America by Brendan Kelly

The show was directed by Clare Anyiam-Osigwe and produced by Emmanuel Anyiam-Osigwe